KCAA AWARD OF EXCELLENCE RECIPIENTS

1983

<u>Thomas F. Eagleton</u>, for efforts to establish the National Archives and Records Administration. <u>Kansas State Historical Society</u>, for its constant support for regional history programming and organizations that promote cooperation among local historical agencies.

Church of the Nazarene, for its support in the publication of the KCAA Disaster Preparedness Manual and other efforts that promote local history.

<u>Federal Archives and Records Center</u>, for regional history programming and organizations that promote cooperation among local historical agencies.

1984

Theodore Zecy, American Micro Company of Kansas City, for his excellent work to encourage the preservation of documents through microfilming.

M. Joan Huse, volunteer at the Liberty Memorial Museum, for her contribution to the cataloging and preservation of the archives of the Memorial.

Leroy Morrison, for the development and implementation of a records management system for the University of Missouri.

1985

Ferne Malcolm Wells, for efforts in establishing the archives for St. Luke's Hospital, Grace and Holy Trinity Cathedral, and the Episcopal Diocese of Western Missouri.

<u>Steven D. Cooley</u>, for the organization of the highly successful Nazarene Conference on History and Archives.

1986

<u>James P. Devine</u>, Underwood Studios his commitment to archival photography and his service to the Greater Kansas City area archival community.

Robert J. Keckeisen and **Terry H. Harmon**, Kansas State Historical Society, in recognition of their contributions to the field of local government records preservation.

Marilyn Dell Brady, Wyandotte County Museum, in recognition of her contributions to local history research.

<u>American Association for State and Local History</u> in recognition of its commitment to and support of the archival profession.

1987

<u>Alan Perry</u>, National Archives-Kansas City Branch, for outstanding contributions in the areas of conservation and archival education.

Medical Media Services Division of the Veteran's Administration Medical Center, Topeka, Kansas, for assisting the Kansas State Historical Society in transferring unique historical film to videotape.

KTWU-Channel 11, **Topeka**, **Kansas**, for assisting the Kansas State Historical Society in transferring unique historical film to videotape.

1988

Thomas Ryther, for outstanding service as a volunteer in the University of Kansas Archives. **Sharron Uhler**, for her contribution to KCAA and the establishment of the University Archives at

the University of Missouri-Kansas City.

Gordon Hendrickson, for his contribution to KCAA and the establishment of the Western Historical Manuscript Collection-Kansas City

Paul Eisloeffel, for his contribution to KCAA and the development of the archives at the Kansas City Museum.

1989

Laird Wilcox, founder of the Wilcox Collection of Contemporary Political Movements, Spencer Research Library, University of Kansas.

Charles B. Barr, volunteer at the National Archives-Central Plains Branch.

1990

Dr. E.W.J. Pearce, volunteer, University of Kansas Medical Center Archives.

Dennis Richardson, donor of the Owen Hawkins photograph collection to the Kansas State Historical Society.

B. Edgar Johnson, administrator responsible for the creation of the Nazarene Archives.

1991

None awarded

1992

<u>Gerry Ray</u>, for the establishment of an archives and records management program for Johnson County, Kansas.

<u>Gale Morgan</u> and the <u>MaceRich Company</u>, for assistance and support in providing emergency assistance to the Kansas Collection, University of Kansas.

1993

Dr. Niel M. Johnson, for his contributions to local history and his work at the Harry S. Truman Library.

Philip D. Lagerquist, for his contributions to local history and his work at the Harry S. Truman Library.

1994

Dr. Kenneth LaBudde, for his contribution to the preservation of historical records in Kansas City.

1995

<u>Dr. Harold F. Smith</u>, for his work in the establishment of the archives at Park College.

1996

None awarded

1997

None awarded

1998

None awarded

1999

Jonathan Kemper and **the William T. Kemper Foundation** for exemplary leadership and promotion of excellence made by the Foundation in support of various programs and projects in regional history.

2000

<u>Dr. L.F. "Pat" Robinson</u>, the Emporia State University Registrar, for his role in the development of the retention and disposition schedule for Emporia State.

2001

Carolyn Bailey Berneking for outstanding service as a volunteer in the University of Kansas Archives and her contributions to historical research and historic preservation.

2002

KSHB TV NBC-41 for the program "Kansas City Crossroads."

2003

None awarded

2004

Jack Denzer for many years providing exceptional quality in his delivery of photographic services to archives, museums and libraries of the Kansas City area.

Project Team for the Kansas Department of Revenue's Central E-Mail Record Archive (CERA) for developing and sharing a strategy for compliance with state regulations regarding retention and disposition of records, including e-mail records through the establishment of an email records archive.

2005

Chuck Haddix for his contributions to preserving the documentary heritage of Kansas City jazz. In addition to his archival and radio roles, Chuck co-authored a book entitled *Kansas City Jazz: from Ragtime to Bebop* with music historian Frank Driggs.

2006

Dr. Cecelia Salvatore, professor of library and information science at Emporia State University, was honored for establishing the Archives Certificate Program at Emporia.

University of Kansas faculty members *Sheryl Williams*, Curator of the Kansas Collection at Kenneth Spencer Research Library, and *John Simmons*, Director of the Museum Studies Program and Collections Manager at the Museum of Natural History, received awards for instituting a course in Archival Principles and Practices as part of the Museum Studies curriculum at KU.

2007

None awarded

2008

Dave Boutros, one of the founding members of KCAA, associate director of the Western Historical Manuscript Collection-Kansas City, for contributions to preserving the documentary heritage of the Greater Kansas City area and beyond.